Monday, December 4, 2017

VRMS Author's Conference

The 2017  VRMS Author's Conference was held on Wednesday November 29th.  Learners attended seven sessions from seven different genres of story telling.  The conference was kicked off by Humorist Charles Dufour, originally from Madawaska. Thanks to Ms. Beal and  Ms. Cyr who organized the event!

Monday, November 20, 2017

"Anne, The Musical" Wows Them!!

ANNE, The Broadway Musical was performed by the VRMS/CHS Drama Club to near capacity audiences on November 16-18.  The Doug Clapp production featured students from FKES, VRMS, CHS & UMFK!  The phenomenal performance was the highest grossing play ever produced and directed by Mr. Clapp.  Congratulations to all performers and set personnel!

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Circle of Warriors

Valley Rivers Middle School in Fort Kent recently inducted its newest members into their Circle of Warriors. A total of 23 learners from 7th and 8th grade were recognized for their exceptional character, leadership and citizenship, for their adherence to the district’s Core Values and for helping to promote a positive school climate. These nominees join the students who were previously nominated during the 2016-2017 school year. Together the students are helping to grow the Circle of Warriors and are helping to make Valley Rivers Middle School a safe and positive place to learn.

Current 7th and 8th Graders who make up VRMS Circle Of Warriors
(front row kneeling)
Toby Bouchard, Chase Eirman, Logan Wood, Josey Desjardins, Ethan Raymond, Genevieve Michaud-Naranja, Mira Kelly, Tia Saucier, Shelby Carson, Connor Pelletier, Sadie Pelletier, Shania Morin, Mackenzie Corriveau.
(back row standing)

Gracy Labbe, Cole Guimond, Abby Pelletier, Lucas Hebert, David Chouinard, Cody Taggett, Hudson Labbe, Shaye Labonte, Abby Pettengil, Hannah Chasse, Emma Deprey, Mallory Sirois, Esther Grange, Morgan Cyr, Emily Fournier, Amanda Pinette, Allee Morgan, Gianna Babin, Elly Sirois, Jocelyn Morin, Kassidy O’Leary, Ethan Pelletier, Evan Deschaine, Morgan Plourde, Devin Gagnon, Collin Bennett, Darci Pelletier, Ben Davis, Nancy Martin, Annabelle Reardon, Nathalie Nadeau, Gracie Ouellette, and Toby Caron. Missing from the photo:  Rebekah Robichaud

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Class C North Soccer Finals

Due to the limited parking at UMFK, we are asking all Warrior fans to please use parking around Community High School for today's Northern Maine Championship Game.

In order to accommodate the rainy conditions, MSAD27 will be providing a shuttle bus service to and from the CHS parking lots and UMFK alumni field.  The shuttle service should run every 10 - 15 minutes before, during, and immediately after the game.

Go Warriors! 

Sunday, October 29, 2017

Caught Doing Good!

CORE Values in Action!

Congratulations to Caleb Carney, the first weekly winner of our CORE Values Card, for doing a positive deed!  All students who receive a CORE Values Card during the week for their positive behavior are eligible for our weekly drawing.  All students who receive a card throughout the year are in the running for the grand prize in June!  Thanks, Caleb, for volunteering to collect funds on Tuesday's soccer playoff!  Thanks also for the 50+ individuals who were "Caught Doing Good!" this past week!

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Seniors Win Spirit Week Truck Parade!

The annual "Truck Parade" was held in between varsity soccer games on Friday the 13th!  All four classes displayed incredible Warrior Spirit and had fun during the event!  The Class of 2018 was victorious in this opening event of "Spirit Week"! Congratulations Seniors, continue to lead the school with class!

Friday, September 15, 2017

Middle School Math: Group/Regrouping

This year the middle school team is approaching math with a different spin.  For each group of related learning targets, for example ratios and proportions, every learner will take a pretest to determine their level of understanding of the concepts, of from 6-10 related learning targets.  Learners are grouped with one of three teachers and several students who are at a comparable level for a particular level for several of these targets.   After learners reach proficiency for these targets they are regrouped with other learners and another teacher.  This occurs until students reach proficiency in the 6-10 learning targets.  Learners are then given a pretest for the next group of related learning targets and the process continues.  In this way learners get the material that is just the right fit at just the right level for them.  Learners also get the chance to work with three different teachers and different classmates on a rotating basis.